Sunday, July 08, 2007

The new Seven Wonders of the World have been named:
  • The Great Wall of China
  • Petra in Jordan
  • Brazil's statue of Christ the Redeemer
  • Peru's Machu Picchu
  • Mexico's Chichen Itza pyramid
  • The Colosseum in Rome
  • India's Taj Mahal
Along the way, I found out that apart from the Pyramids in Egypt, all of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World have been destroyed:
  • Great Pyramid of Giza
  • Hanging Gardens of Babylon
  • Temple of Artemis at Ephesus
  • Statue of Zeus at Olympia
  • Mausoleum of Maussollos at Halicarnassus
  • Colossus of Rhodes
  • Lighthouse of Alexandria
Out of the eight Wonders (one ancient and seven new), I have only seen the Colosseum, which cost me a princely sum of 8 Euros after my student discount back in 2001. I wasn't incredibly impressed at the time, but I acknowledge the skill and ability needed to construct such a monstrous stadium back in that time and age must have been considerable.

No comments: